International Nuclear Safety Cooperation

International Nuclear Safety Cooperation


STUK has a representative in both the Commission on Safety Standards (CSS) man­aging the preparation of the regulatory guides as well as in the committees dealing with the content of the regulatory guides, i.e. the Nuclear Safety Standards Committee (NUSSC), the Waste Safe­ty Standards Committee (WASSC), the Radiation Safety Standards Committee (RASSC), the Nucle­ar Security Guidance Committee (NSGC) and the Transport Safety Standards Committee (TRANS­SC).


The Nuclear Energy Agency of the OECD (NEA) coordinates international cooperation in the field of safety research in particular. The organisation also provides an opportunity for co-operation between regulatory authorities. STUK is represented in all main committees of the organisation dealing with radiation and nuclear safety issues. The main committees’ fields of activity are:

  • Nuclear safety regulation (CNRA, Committee on Nuclear Regulatory Activities)
  • Safety research (CSNI, Committee on the Safe­ty of Nuclear Installations)
  • Radiation safety (CRPPH, Committee on Radia­tion Protection and Public Health)
  • Nuclear waste management (RWMC, Radioac­tive Waste Management Committee).


STUK has been a member of WENRA (Western European Nuclear Regulators' Association) since the beginning of its activities in 1999. A principal aim of WENRA is continuous improvement of nuclear safety in the member countries. To achieve this WENRA develops and publishes safety reference levels for harmonization of the national nuclear safety regulations and requirements.


STUK participates in the activities of the EU member states’ nuclear safety regulators’ co-oper­ation group (ENSREG, European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group) and in two of its subgroups (on nuclear safety and nuclear waste management).


The Multinational Design Evaluation Programme (MDEP) was established upon the initiative of the United States nuclear safety authority (Nuclear Regulatory Commission, NRC). It involves fourteen countries with the objective of improving coopera­tion in the field of the assessment of new nuclear power plants and developing convergent regula­tory practices. In addition to the USA, South Africa, India, Japan, Canada, China, Korea, France, Finland, Sweden, the United Kingdom, Russia, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates participate in the programme. Partici­pants in the programme include only those coun­tries with new nuclear power plants at some stage of assessment by the regulatory authorities. The OECD Nuclear Energy Agency functions as the secretariat for the programme.


STUK participates in the cooperation between the regulatory authorities of countries operating VVER-type nuclear power plants (e.g. Loviisa nuclear power plant in Finland) via the VVER Forum.