Cores banner Cores research

Cores research

Cores research

Cores Executive Board

Cores is administered by Executive Board, where all Cores member organisations are represented.

The next meeting of the Cores Executive Board will be organised in 2021. (To be announced later)

 The items addressed by the board are:

  • the promotion of radiation safety research
  • the maintenance and updating of the national radiation safety research programme
  • the action plan and its follow-up
  • the initiatives for the research programmes and activities supporting the aims of the consortium
  • the promotion of the joint use of infrastructures and databases
  • the support and coordination of education and training
  • the promotion of innovative activities and contacts with industry

The Cores Executive Board will meet at least twice a year, and it aims for consensus in its decision making.

The composition of the Executive Board

The members of the board act as the contacts points in their own universities and departments. The members of the Executive Board are:

  • Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority: Pia Vesterbcka, Sisko Salomaa
  • University of Helsinki: Kai Nordlund (proxy: Jukka Lehto)
  • Aalto University: Filip Tuomisto (proxy: Jarmo Ala-Heikkilä)
  • Lappeenranta University of Technology: Juhani Hyvärinen
  • Tampere University of Technology: Tarmo Lipping (proxy: Juha Toivonen)
  • University of Eastern Finland: Jukka Juutilainen
  • University of Jyväskylä: Paul Greenlees
  • University of Oulu: Juha Röning (proxy: Arja Rautio)
  • University of Tampere: Juha Teperi (proxy: Anssi Auvinen)
  • University of Turku: Mika Teräs (proxy: Jarno Salonen)
  • VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd: Jaakko Leppänen
  • Åbo Akademi University: Mikael Bergelin

Chair of the Executive Board: Filip Tuomisto (Aalto University)
Vice chair of the Executive Board: Mika Teräs (University of Turku)
Secretary of the Executive Board: Sisko Salomaa (Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority)